Alysha’s Road to the Rocky! My journey to my first Bikini Competition

“I’ll never be a bikini chick, prancing around in heels and a bedazzled thong.  Not my thing”

This was me, two years ago.  It is kind of crazy to believe that same girl is getting ready to begin preparing for my first bikini competition in October.

Now before my fellow competition chicks raise an eyebrow, let me explain myself.

When I first began in the fitness industry, I was a boxing chick; spitting into buckets, getting slammed on the ground by sweaty MMA dudes, and brushing my hair, well, never.

So imagining myself onstage, with big hair, make up, and the whole “fancy walk” thing was far from obtainable in my mind.  As much as I tried to shun the bikini world, I always admired those chick’s bodies!

Besides, I was an “athlete”, I wasn’t one of those girls.  I couldn’t have been more wrong.

I picked up an Oxygen magazine one day, to get new workout ideas and ran across an article on Erin Stern.   I was blown away by Erin’s physique, training techniques, and impressive college track background.  Here was an athlete, doing competitions and making a name for herself; and no one was talking about a bedazzled thong.  Besides, I needed a new challenge, and holy crap was I in for the toughest of my life!

After going to a show, talking to fellow competitors, and doing my research, I set out for my first show.  I began training and dieting with help of a friend that had coached a couple of competition girls, and set out for 12 weeks.  This was my first and biggest mistake; I never made it to my competition and I’ll tell you why:

First thing is first, you need a coach and you need a program.  I have been a personal trainer for 5 years; writing workout and diet programs, helping clients reach amazing goals; but that didn’t mean I knew anything about training for a bikini competition.

My diet was too strict and my training was too intense to sustain for 12 weeks.  I ended up injuring my patella and almost killing my boyfriend over blueberries at 5:30 A.M.

I was so frustrated and down, I said I would write off competitions forever.  Thankfully after speaking to a good friend of mine and WBFF Pro Ashley Schoultz, she explained to me how to do competitions, the right way.

So here I am, on a path of redemption, determined to do this damn thing, and the best part is, I’m doing it right!

Tips Before You Decide to Compete:

  • Go to a show.  Get a good look at what the end result will be and if you’re up for it.
  • Talk to a pro or competitor.  They will give you the expectations of what your life will be for 16-12 weeks, and believe me, you’ll need to put your big girl pants on.
  • Find a coach, and not just someone who has done a show.  Seek someone out who has a proven track record of successful clients and who knows what they’re doing on diet programming, training, and posing.  Google or facebook local pros in your area and ask them for referrals or if they coach themselves.
  • Do a practice diet and training program.  Even though I didn’t make it to my competition, it was a great way for me to practice how to get disciplined on diet and workouts, as well as learning how to do time management.
  • Make sure you have the moula.  Competitions are expensive!  Coaching, bikinis, tanning, it all adds up, so have the funding to support a stress free prep.
  • Timing, timing, timing.  Make sure you have a schedule to support competing.  Between two a days and basically a non-social existence, you need to make sure you can have the time to get it all done.  I suggest picking a show that is between the big holidays, because believe me, when you want to eat everything in sight, the last place you’ll want to be is at a holiday party.
  • Have the right mind.  This is the most important tip I can give you.  Some days, you’re going to be girl gone crazy, so make sure you’re in a good, content place with your life.  Break-ups, work conflict, and major drama is not the time to compete, you’re going to need all the support you can get; from yourself and your team.

Here’s the deal, I’m starting my 12 week competition prep for the Colorado Naturals State Bodybuilding Bikini Class, in Denver, CO next week, and I’m bringing you guys with me; I’m holding nothing back, and giving you the truth, honest to goodness truth, about competing.

I’ll be walking you through my workouts, giving you my diet, tips I’m learning along the way, and in the end: if I’ll ever do it again.  Follow me for inspiration, answers, and probably some comedic relief along the way (Did I mention posing?).

Here I go; this fit chick is going to be a bikini competitor.

Crown-Silhouette-GraphicsFairysm

15 comments

  1. Mamma Lav · January 2, 2014

    I’m very anxious to follow your blog.

    • justafitchick · January 3, 2014

      Yay Mamma Lav! Each week I’m putting in example workouts and what my diet was like day to day. Hopefully it gives you some good ideas!

  2. Heather @ Better With Veggies · January 2, 2014

    This is fun to read! Did you write this as you were prepping and just waited to share? 🙂

    • justafitchick · January 3, 2014

      Thanks Heather! Yes, I kept an entire journal throughout the whole training. I wanted to write it as I went through the process. I find your emotions are more genuine and real when you are writing through the UPS and downs. Looking back, because I had such a great experience; If I would have wrote about the experience after it would have been all “rainbows and kittens” and I wanted to project my feeling each week, because you understand how crazy it can get!:)

  3. Mamma Lav · January 5, 2014

    Thank you Al and I will be anxiously awaiting your blog tips.

  4. Miss Coco J · January 8, 2014

    Reblogged this on Pretty Girl Fit and commented:
    Awsome post!

    • justafitchick · January 12, 2014

      Thanks girl! Week 9 coming shortly!

      • Miss Coco J · January 13, 2014

        I’m 9 weeks out now.

      • justafitchick · January 13, 2014

        Awesome; go girl! Which show?

      • Miss Coco J · January 13, 2014

        NPC Georgia March 15th

      • justafitchick · January 14, 2014

        Good luck and get it girl!

  5. Jen · January 15, 2014

    I had similiar thoughts and conversations with my boyfriend (now hubby) about ladies “prancing in bikinis” on stage more than 7 years ago. Once you realize the athleticism in the process, there is a huge mental shift. Good job, Alysha. You did an excellent job and looked stunning on stage!!!

    • justafitchick · January 15, 2014

      Thanks Jen! That’s so sweet of you to say. It’s funny when you go through the process you learn more respect for yourself and other girls than ever before! We’re all boss ladies! Thanks for the love ❤️

  6. kimberlyjerz · January 22, 2014

    Love this! It is all about being in the right mindset. 🙂

Leave a Reply

