Alysha’s Road to the Rocky: Week 10

As I mentioned in my last blog, I have decided to enter my first bikini competition and let’s just say I’m excited, overwhelmed, and maybe scared shitless; but either way I’ve committed and I’m going full force!

Week 10: Starting progress pic.   Weight: 132 Body Fat: 15% My goal in 10 weeks is to be at 121 on stage with 10% body fat; focusing on bringing my shoulders and flutes out.

Week 10: Starting progress pic.
Weight: 132
Body Fat: 15%
My goal in 10 weeks is to be at 121 on stage with 10% body fat; focusing on bringing my shoulders and flutes out.

 

In the true fashion of practicing what you preach; I took my own advice hired a coach, and found a program that fits my body and lifestyle and I’ve began my prep at exactly 10 weeks out.

Depending on your body and your stage goal, a competitor’s prep can begin as far out as 16 weeks or as little as 8; this is where the professional comes in.  Even though I’ve been training clients for years, I needed the extra knowledge and experience of a professional that has been onstage and can coach me through the “fancy walk” and exactly what my body will need through the weeks.

If you’re anything like me, you have been researching all the articles you can find on bikini competitions and I found myself always reading blogs about the emotional side of competing and less of the actual workouts and programs these athletes were doing; so I’ll keep it simple for all my fit chicks out there:  I’m gonna give you every ounce of my journey.  The workouts, the food, the break downs, and the badass feeling I’ll have walking across that stage!  So here we go Fit Chicks, Week 10….

 

Diet and Meal Plan

Day 1 (High Day)

Meal 1:  5 oz. protein, 4 oz. veggies, 2 oz. starch, ½ avacado

Meal 2:  Dymatize Iso 100 Protein Shake, 1 Scoop Dymatize Glutamine, 1 Scoop Cellucor Creatine

Meal 3:  5 oz. protein, 4 oz. veggies, 2 oz. starch, 1 tbs. liquid fat

Meal 4:  5 oz. protein, 4 oz. veggies, 2 oz. starch

Meal 5:  5 oz. protein, 4 oz. veggies

Meal 6:  5 oz. protein, 4 oz. veggies

Meal 7:  5 oz. protein, 4 oz. veggies, 1 tbs. Liquid Fat

Day 3 (Low Day)

Meal 1:  4 oz. protein, 4 oz. veggies, ½ avacado

Meal 2:  Protein Shake (same as day 1)

Meal 3:  4 oz. protein, 4 oz. veggies, 2 oz. starch, 1 tbs. Liquid fat

Meal 4:  4 oz. protein, 4 oz. veggies, 2 oz. starch

Meal 5:  4 oz. protein, 4 oz. veggies

Meal 6:  4 oz. protein, 4 oz. veggies

Meal 7:  4 oz. protein, 4 oz. veggies, 1 tbs. liquid fat

Once again this is a program written for my body and my goals, so every program will be different at Week 10.  My goals are to bring my shoulder and deltoids out and make my booty larger and fuller.  A hard task to do, but by supplementing large amounts of protein and timed fat around my workouts, I’m still in a “maintain/build” mode of my diet prep.

I’m supplementing 5 high days and 2 low days in my calorie range, which will not only provide sufficient fuel for my workouts, but also allow my body to build and my muscles stay full.  When deciding on your competition prep proteins stick to lean meats such as fish, chicken, and 99% fat free turkey.  Due to my own personal preference, I add a red meat, such as bison in one meal.

Feel free to get wild with the veggies at this point in your prep, but make sure they are providing fiber and not too much sugar.  Broccoli and spinach are my favorites.

Carbs and starches are limited already in Week 10, so get more bang for your buck!  Brown quinoa, whole wheat rolled oats, Low sodium rice cakes, and sweet potatoes are great choices.

My body works best on regulated fat, and other than the fat my body is getting from my solid food, I use a liquid fat, to help with timing of my workouts.  Odo’s Liquid Fat and MCT oil are the best in my opinion.

10 weeks and counting!  Most competitors start a prep from 16-10 weeks out from the show day.

10 weeks and counting! Most competitors start a prep from 16-10 weeks out from the show day.

So here’s the part we all hate to hear, but need to know: all the foods and extras you have to break up with.

Alcohol is gone; so happily remove your ass from happy hour and park it on a stair climber, because your sobriety starts now.  Sweeteners (which I am guilty of in my coffee drinks) are limited and food enhancers should be limited to salsa and mustard.  Basically, you’re eating clean girlfriend and your progress and body will thank you for it!

 

Workout Program

Example Lower Body Day

-Squats (Feet close)  12,8,12,8,12

-Leg Press  10,6,10,6,10

-Plie Kettle Bell Squat 12,8,12,8,12

-Standing Calf Raises  20,20,20,20

-Lying Hamstring Curl  10,6,10,6,10

 

Example Upper Body Day

-1 arm dumbbell snatch  12,6,12,6,12

-Shoulder Press  10,6,10,6,10

-Lateral Raises  12,6,12,6,12

-Wide Grip Cable Pull-Downs  12,6,12,6

My main goal again, is to bring out my deltoid and shoulder and build my glutes.  I follow a 4 day program, followed by a rest day and then repeat.  My main goal is to lift heavy and consistent and I focus on concentrated contractions while I complete my reps.  Basically, slow, steady, and beast mode!

I’ve always had a great core, so I do 2-3 ab and core exercises every 3rd workout, focusing on upper and lower abdomen work and then oblique work on the next workout.  Cardio leans my body very quickly, so luckily I’m not a slave to the stairmaster yet!

I perform cardio 4 x’s a week alternating 25 minute HIIT training and 30 minute spin bike, stair climber, or sprints and plyos.  Sprinting is great for building the booty and keeping the core tight.  I also love to spin for the fullness it gives my quads and glutes.

 

So now that you have had the steak and potatoes of what Week 10 looks like, I can get a little poetic.  This is not easy, and I knew it wouldn’t be.  What people won’t tell you about competing is that the best advice and tip you can have is go into the prep with a strong mental outlook.  Keep supportive and positive people around you and most of all realize that it is called a preparation for a reason; you need patience and trust in your program that you will get the results in the end.

You may find some backlash to your new lifestyle; and that’s just how it is, but you should know that you’re doing something special and the ones who really care about your goals and progress will support you, and maybe try to kill you as well in the next couple weeks.

Week 10 sets the pace; and from the looks of it I’m full speed ahead mother truckers!  Until Week 9 Fit Chicks!

 

 

Leave a Reply

