Team Fit Chick Interviews: WBFF PRO and Fitness Model Ashley Shoultz

WBFF Pro Bikini Athlete Ashley Schoultz Photo credit: LGFX Photography

WBFF Pro Bikini Athlete Ashley Schoultz
Photo credit: LHGFX Photography

NAME:  Ashley Shoultz

Profession:  I am a person who makes a difference; life coach, and health and fitness expert.

Let’s get social:

Facebook:WBFF PRO Ashley Schoultz

IG:  @ashleyschoultz

How did you get started in the fitness industry?

My 55-year-old friend inspired me. 

At the time, I was in my early 20’s, partying, drinking and having a “good time”;  but I wasn’t taking care of myself and I felt out of control and wasn’t happy.   I had come home to Colorado for winter break and met up with a friend and was given the best insight of my life! 

My friend, in spite of her circumstances (which were tremendous and painful) was in beautiful physical and mental condition.  She was radiating! She was also extremely optimistic and positive;  I, on the other hand was covered in cellulite from too much drinking and bad eating, overly stressed from lack of sleep and motivation; My life needed to change!

What makes you a fit chick?

I work very hard to be mentally and physically strong and I also take my HEALTH very seriously
Health and fitness are two very different things and early on in my career, I was fit and looked in shape but was not healthier then when I first started out and in some cases extremely
worse off!

What inspires you?

The beauty of the human spirit and the process of seeing what people are truly capable of!

What has been the hardest obstacle you’ve faced and how did you conquer it?

Finding myself up 40 pounds from where I started following my first year of competing.

In addition too dealing with insomnia and extreme anxiety because of the adrenal exhaustion, I had caused my body from over training and prolonged low calorie, low carb, low-fat diet.  Once my adrenal system got back on track, I dealt with the onset of metabolic damage and was unable to control my weight fluctuations for over 2 years.

I stopped weighing myself at my 40 pound increase point for my own mental health, but at my highest point, I was wearing men’s tops to drown out my growing figure.  My face and body were covered in acne and my hair was breaking and falling out in chunks, because of my out of control hormones trying to bounce back from what I had undergone.

I truly believe that our most painful moments can be our life’s biggest blessings.

The person I am today and the coach I have become as a direct reflection of that point in my life and the research and education that I sought to understand what had happened to me is how I continue to grown and help others today.  I leaned to enjoy the process of working out and began looking forward to the strength it gave me everyday; alone, as my only motivation for doing it.  My mind was weak and emotions uncontrollable; my body couldn’t respond to training so I had nothing else to do but wait. Today, more than 5 years later and am a Bikini Pro; after I swore I’d never compete again, and most proud to say that I am anxiety free!! One of the things that really plagued me was the notion that I got from health care professionals and books saying that once a person has panic and anxiety at the level I did that I’d  have it forever.  I was literally tortured by that thought and was determined to learn to overcome it!

A person is truly capable of achieving anything you set your mind to and that was a lesson and blessing worth learning!

 

Ashley; killing it on the WBFF PRO stage

Ashley; killing it on the WBFF PRO stage

 

What, in your opinion, is the best training style for women?

It really depends on the goal.  Nutrition and training would be different for a Cross Fit athlete compared to someone looking to gain muscle or lose fat.

My goal right now is to look fit and be healthy.  A big portion of that process is dependent upon adding muscle density and keeping it, which I do by:

1) Weight training at a heart rate zone, so I am efficiently burning fat and using it as
my primary source of fuel.  Instead of using blood sugar; thus robbing the nervous system’s blood sugar to function normally.

2) Eating a diet high enough in calories, fats, carbs, and protein to support my training program, and support a strong, healthy metabolism and lifestyle.   Overall the BEST training style for anyone is
one that meets your goals and accelerates health while doing so!

What does a normal day in your diet look like?

Balanced; and not deprived!! In fact, I’m always full and found that I thrive and maintain a leaner look year round on lots of healthy fats and carbs!

3 Things every Fit Chick Should Know:

-Balance is essential to happiness in any area of life!

-Love yourself and selflessly love others.

-There is true beauty in laughter and learning!

What does your supplementation look like?

I supplement some dietary fat with MTC oil or Emulsified Omega 3’s, other than that I use a multi-vitamin, probiotics, and BCAA’s for recovery

What’s in the future for this Fit Chick?

To launch my online business!  And to continue to help guide people in their pursuit of happiness!  It’s taken over 10 years of hands-on experience, education, and research to get to the bottom of my issues and I know now I can deliver a program for others out there that is a constant, measurable, and effective way to get results in ANY area of life.

In a few months, I will be launching an online site to help others that may be dealing with the same experiences I have encountered.  This site and program has been a dream of mine for a very long time and I’m incredibly excited to share the experience!

 

 

A person is truly capable of achieving anything you set your mind too; and that is a lesson and blessing worth learning” -Ashley Schoultz, WBFF Bikini Pro, Personal Trainer, Fitness model.

One comment

  1. Shoultz · August 5, 2014

    Ashley Nicole Shoultz is one of the most gorgeous fitness trainers I have ever known.

Leave a Reply

