Crunchy? Creamy? Savory? What to Grab when you’re Craving and On The Go

If you follow my social at all, you know that I love food! What I love even more is taking my favorite meals and putting a healthy spin on them.

I’m what you call a “somewhatpaleo”, “somewhatglutenfree”, “somewhatmeathead” chef and when it comes to cravings, this fat kid knows what’s up!

I get tons of requests to do healthy spins on even the naughtiest treats and I can proudly say I turn out some masterpieces.

I also get messages about how to fight cravings, food prep, and get into healthy lifestyles and I love it! Keep the questions coming!

Jamie Culbert from Ohio, sent me this:

“I travel 80% of my week and food prepping is out of the question. So what choices should I make when craving certain foods?”

 

Great questions Jamie! I figured that this question rang true to so many out there that I thought I’d break it down, really simple, Fit Chick Style.

What to grab when you’re on the go and a craving strikes, and not break the bank!

 

What to grab when you’re craving something Creamy:

5af3dc8f25bd669e60d263cf40fe0328

Dark Chocolate Raspberry Yasso Frozen Greek Yogurt

Fit Chick Run Down:

110 calories, 4.5 grams of fat, $5.5o for a box of 4

Al’s rundown: Although a slightly high in sugar, this is a great treat or possible cheat meal! It’s also already portioned, which helps keep you on track.

Whole Foods Deli-Made Guacamole

Fit Chick Run Down:

40 calories per serving (2 tbsp.), 4 grams of fat, $3.49 a container

Al’s Run Down: I always preach for good healthy fats like avocados and Whole Foods offers an organic, natural recipe. Here’s the thing: if you can just have 2 tbsp. you’re my hero! So make sure you are keeping your serving sizes in check and put it on something, no bag of chips to go with!

Boar’s Head Brand humus Roasted Red Pepper

Fit Chick Run Down:

70 calories per serving, 5 grams fat (2 tbs.), $4 for 10 oz. container

Al’s Run Down: Absolutely love this! Good healthy fat, perfect to pair with veggies for late night cravings or mid-day snack for long-lasting energy.

Dannon Oikos Strawberry Greek Frozen Yogurt

Fit Chick Run Down:

160 calories per serving, 4.5 grams of fat, $2.65 per 150 g container

Al’s Run Down: I’m not crazy about dairy; in my opinion it can help increase fluid retention; especially in women, but a great grab to help that ice cream fix!

Chobani simply 100 Black Cherry Greek Yogurt

Fit Chick Run Down:

100 calories per container, 0 gram fat per cup, $1.50 for 5.3 oz. cup

Al’s Run Down: Pretty much same story as Greek Frozen yogurt. This is a great way to add more protein to your normal day-to-day routine.

When you’re craving something Savory:

Blue Diamond Almonds Honey Roasted Cinnamon

Fit Chick Run Down:

160 calories, 13 g fat for 1 oz, $3.50 for 6 oz. can

Al’s Run Down: Nuts work for everybody. Sodium and sugar don’t. Great snack option for yourself and the kiddos, just watch out on overeating. I also add these little nuggets of awesomeness, on top of my pancakes.

Wonderful Pistachios Roasted

wonderfulpistachios1

Fit Chick Run Down:

160 calories, 14 grams fat for 1 oz., $6 for 8 oz. bag

Al’s Run Down: My favorite option in this blog! This is great for when you are out biking, hiking, and on the go. A great way to get extra protein and healthy fats.

Nonni’s Thin Addictives Banana Dark Chocolate Almond Thins

Fit Chick Run Down:

100 calories per serving, 4 g. fat, $3.50 for 6 packages

Al’s Run Down: It has “addictive” in the name for a reason; they’re so good! So keep a lock down on not eating the whole box girls; it happened to me once; not good!

Kashi Cinnamon Harvest Cereal

Fit Chick Run Down:

180 calories per serving (1 cup), 1 gram fat, $6.55 per container

Al’s Run Down: I tried this, and for a cereal the nutritional contents weren’t that bad. High in carbs and sugar, but a quick and easy breakfast or pre-workout snack with yogurt.

 

When you’re craving something Crunchy:

Smartfood Delights Popcorn with Sea Salt

Fit Chick Break Down:35 calories per serving, 2 gram fat per cup, $4 for 5 oz. bag

Al’s Break Down: Another one of my “off season” favorites. This snack has a decent sodium and carb count and I roll them in clusters with peanut butter to make awesome protein balls for before my workouts.

Pressels Everything Flavor

Fit Chick Run Down:

110 calories, 2 gram of fat per 1 oz, $4 for 7.1 oz bag

Al’s Break Down: Ok, so I may have stretched it on this one. Not great source of protein, but if it’s between these babies and a kit kat; Pressels on girlfriend!

Kashi All Natural humus Crisps sun-dried Tomatoes with Basil and Feta

Fit Chick Run Down:

120 calories per serving (27 crisps), 3.5 grams of fat, $4 per container

Al’s Run Down: humus chips dipped in humus? Double win here.

Food that should Taste Good: Sweet Potato Chips

Fit Chick Run Down:

140 calories for 1 oz., 7 grams of fat, $4 for 5 oz. bag

Al’s Break Down: These are my one true love! I found these guys when getting ready for a BBQ. I didn’t want to offer my guests fat-drenched potato chips, and didn’t want to turn it into a “veggie party”, so this is a great healthier alternative everyone in the gang should enjoy.

Snapea Crisps, Wasabi Ranch Flavor

imagesIQC9QT4X

Fit Chick Break Down:

120 Calories for 1 oz. serving, .5 grams fat, $2 for 4 oz. bag

Al’s Break Down: Lower carb content for the “crunchy” category and my fella is obsessed with the light spicy flavor.

 

Now before my true natural foodies go ape shit; well you guys do! Let me explain a couple of things:

My general rule of thumb is that to stay away from packaged, processed, or pre-made anything as much as possible. These foods tend to be higher in sugar, sodium, and some have chemicals as well. My thoughts are if you don’t have to make it; you should probably be seeking a healthier, more natural option for your meal.

But let’s face it; we don’t ALWAYS have time, we aren’t ALWAYS close to a kitchen, and sometimes we just have to be on the go. These are great options to keep you on track, when life gets a little busy.

Besides, I’m never going to stand in the way of a sister and an ice cream craving!

Keep the questions coming in guys! I’m working on the holy grail of healthy alternatives posts in the next couple weeks. Ty from Denver, asked me to make a healthy alternative for a monte cristo; game on brother!

Work.Hard Lift.Heavy Live.Blessed

signature logo

 

Leave a Reply

