Carrot Cake Protein Balls: Best Pre Workout Snack Ever!

The most common question I get asked from clients about meals is, “What do I eat for a pre workout?”
Well kids, I went ahead and just made you a recipe!
Pre workouts snacks should be full of easily digested carbs (15% of your daily carb intake) and be paired with a protein and fat.
I LOVE these protein balls because I can make them in bulk and my little guy loves helping (and eating) them!
Super fast and minimal ingredients too!


Carrot Cake Protein Balls

(Recipe for 4-6 servings)
What you’ll need:

Large mixing bowl

Foiled baking sheet

Cheese grader or blender 
What’s in it:

1 tbs. coconut oil

2/3 cup peanut or almond butter

1/4 cup honey or agave

1 tbs. chia seeds

1/2 cup shredded coconut

1 cup finely shredded carrot

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/2 tbs cinnamon 

2 tbs protein powder (use MY PROTEIN here)

How to make it:

This is literally the best part; it’s so easy!
Start by microwaving coconut oil in a microwave safe bowl for 30 seconds.
Grade carrots until very fine and shredded. I actually use my ninja blender too get it very fine.
Add all remaining ingredients together in 1 large mixing bowl- minus the coconut flakes.
Grab a small, palm size of mixture and roll into a ball. (I wet my hands slightly to help have less stick when I do this)
Once your all is formed, roll the ball on a flat surface in the coconut flakes and bam; you’re done!


Make sure to refrigerate and you can freeze the balls up to 2 months in the freezer.
I suggest 2-3 balls per serving to stay within pre workout calorie guidelines; but don’t judge; I had like 5 ok? 

Couldn’t help it, they were so good!
Hope you enjoy guys! Make sure to comment on my instagram page @justafitchick how your recipes turned out!

Leave a Reply

